I Didn’t Know

As a girl, I have always taken the side of another girl in any fight. I know, it’s kind of biased, but I guess it’s a female’s instinct and a human nature. You can’t blame girls if we think that way, especially with the abuse and violation that hundreds and thousands of women experience all over the world. Abuse that’s commonly performed by guys, men—who are physically stronger than most of the female population. Hold your horses, if any man is reading this, don’t worry. I do know and I do acknowledge the fact that men, too are violated. Occasionally by women, but whether you admit it or not, most cases are filed against men as well!

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), worldwide some 35% of the total female population has experienced violence and abuse. And in a paper by F. Vanderschueren entitled “The Prevention of Urban Crime”, presented in 2000; women are twice as much prone to violence than men in urban areas, especially in developing countries. This only goes to show that violence against women is in fact a pandemic that should be stopped. In fact, violence in general should be stopped.

This piece of writing is not really about who violates who. Both men and women are victims in this battlefield. And as much as women get scarred by men who are indifferent, we should also acknowledge that some women also causes pain to men. If not physically, it would either be emotionally or mentally.

Recent events have made me realize that it shouldn’t be enough that you’re a girl for me to take your side. It’s not enough that I’ve stood where you stood, because when I was in a similar place, I took a path that’s completely different from the one that you took. It’s never enough of a reason to say that you’re hurting; for all we know he’s hurting as well. Or maybe she’s hurting as well.

I didn’t know this time will come wherein I would hate a girl for their actions. I’m a girl, too, but I believe what you’re doing is wrong; it’s abusive, it’s pathetic and you should stop.

Sources:
[1] http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs239/en

[2] http://www.unwomen.org/en/what-we-do/ending-violence-against-women/facts-and-figures

PS Wala pa akong tulog. Kape pa. :>

Leave a Reply

